In early March I had the opportunity to attend the Harvard Graduate School of Education Professional Education Program Women in Education Leadership. I spent three days working with women from around the country (and the world) in pre-K-16 leadership positions. Dr. Deborah Jewell-Sherman planned and led a series of speakers that inspired, challenged, and stretched our ideas about who we are and what we can accomplish.

Speakers (and topics) included:

Each speaker presented us with case studies and situations that resulted in powerful conversations about leadership. During the program we connected our diverse backgrounds and perspectives to the common themes shared with us. The result was the formation of a community where everyone felt compelled to share her story and contribute to the learning. By the final day we were filled with new ideas, directions and tools to apply to our own unique situations. But I was reluctant to leave these conversations at Harvard. My colleagues’ stories inspired me and I really wanted to learn how our time at Women in Education Leadership impacted their day-to-day professional life.

In an effort to continue the conversations, I decided to interview one of my colleagues via Google Hangouts on Air each week. I start each interview by asking the question, “How has your participation in WiL15 helped you to make a strategic shift in your practice?” In weeks one (March 26) and two (April 2) Jill Dickerson and Asma Akhras shared their reflections on how WiL15 has impacted their thinking and practice.

Interview #1: Dr. Jill Dickerson

Interview #2:  Asma Akhras

Join me next Thursday, April 9, 2015, for my interview with Amina Fola-Rose, the Head of School at the Nia Imani Academy of Excellence.